Thursday, May 31, 2012

ARC Review: Almost a Scandal by Elizabeth Essex

Sally is the daughter and sister of men who belong to the sea. Her youngest brother has a calling to the church and disappears when he is to report to ship duty. Sally decides to save the family honor by taking disguising herself as her brother and taking his place on the ship. Colyear is the first lieutenant on the ship and family friend. Will he recognize Sally for who she really is? Can they resist the attraction growing between them?

I found this to be an interesting read. I enjoyed it but did not find it to be a page-turner. I had no problems putting the book down and coming back to it later.  It wasn’t until the last 25% of the book that I found myself hesitant to put it down and kept reading no matter what else was going on around me.

It took me some time to figure out while I enjoyed the book it didn’t hold my attention as steadfastly. I finally came to the realization that it was because I didn’t really have a vested interest in either Sally or Colyear until close to the end of the book.

These type of book is where I first found my love or romance stories. I was really looking forward to reading this book and feel a little let down only because I wanted to REALLY like it.

The history and battles described in Ms. Essex’s book is fantastic and provides a beautiful landscape for the story

ARC Review: Lord Atwood’s Lovers by Eva Clancy

I really enjoyed the story Lord Atwood’s Lovers. Eva Clancy did a fantastic job creating characters you care about in such a short time. The character development is done more through story telling than dialogue. This can be difficult for readers to shift in their minds as most are used to development through dialogue than story telling.

Lord and Lady Atwood definitely understand each other and are willing to do whatever it takes to make the other happy. The love they feel for each other shines through in the story-telling.

Overall a very good, quick read.

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

The Chief by Monica McCarty

To sum it up: Scouring the darkest corners of the Highlands and Western Isles, Robert the Bruce handpicks ten warriors to help him in his quest to free Scotland from English rule. They are the best of the best, chosen for their superior skills in each discipline of warfare. And to lead his secret Highland Guard, Bruce chooses the greatest warrior of all.

The ultimate Highland warlord and a swordsman without equal, Tor MacLeod has no intention of being drawn into Scotland’s war against the English. Dedicated to his clan, the fiercely independent chief answers to no one— especially not to his alluring new bride, bartered to him in a bid to secure his command of the deadliest fighting force the world has ever seen. The treacherous chit who made her way to Tor’s bed may have won his hand, but she will never claim his heart.

Although her husband’s reputation is as fierce as his manner, Christina Fraser believes that something softer hides beneath his brutal shell. But the only warmth she feels is in their bed, in glorious moments of white-hot desire that disappear with the dawn. When Christina’s reckless bid to win her husband’s love goes awry and thrusts them into danger on the eve of war, Tor will face his ultimate battle: to save his wife and to open his heart— before it’s too late.

 How Tor looked in my mind:

(In real life, Gabriel Aubry doesn’t have blue eyes of course, but since Tor is described with having piercing blue eyes in the novel, I decided to make a few changes!)

(When all else fails, picture my boyfriend Chris Hemsworth! Gabriel Aubry's face worked for me, while picturing Tor... but Chris Hemsworth's body? Ummm... YES PLEASE!)

I have to admit... I was a bit hesitant going into this book, because I had heard it features a lot of history. That’s not something that I tend to mind too much, as long as it isn’t done to the extreme. Nothing is worse than feeling like you’re getting a history lesson, instead of reading a romance. Although I enjoyed this book, I just felt that it could have focused less on the historical/political aspect.

Not only that, but everyone’s last names were so darn confusing! MacLeod, MacSorley, MacRuairi, MacLean, MacGregor, MacKay... catch my drift? How is someone supposed to focus on the story-line, when all of these similar names are consistently thrown on every other page? I found myself (many times) having to stop and wonder who these characters were- were they the good guys? Or were they the bad ones? It just took away the entire enjoyable reading experience for me.

I will say this though: I loved the hero and the heroine. The heroine, Christina, was naive and vulnerable… aside from her appearance, which men often thought, looked very sensual. She wanted to be a good wife, and more than anything, she just wanted Tor to like her. She knew his lovemaking, but she knew nothing of the man. He kept his thoughts to himself. And no matter how hard she tried to break through the wall he’d erected around himself, nothing worked. Many readers would definitely consider her character very needy and lacking some major back-bone... probably even border-line pathetic. Of course this didn’t bother me in the least though, since those are characteristics that I adore in my heroines!

Tor on the other hand, was everything I love in my heroes- he was a big alpha sexy highlander who didn’t have time for a woman’s tender feelings. He was a warrior chief, and nothing more. The only thing that concerned him was his clan, and making sure that they were always taken care of. He had no wish to hurt Christina, but neither did he want to encourage her obvious love-sick feelings for him. *sigh* ...who the heck doesn’t love a hero who constantly keeps himself at an emotional distance from the heroine?

I can’t say for sure if I’ll continue on with the series- I liked this book… but I didn’t love it. I will say this though: Monica McCarty knows her history- and she had a beautiful writing style- I just felt like I got more of a detailed history lesson, more than I did a love story.

Some of my favorite quotes:

-“I know your face. And if I so much as hear of you touching an unwilling woman again, mine will be the last you ever see.” -Tor

-"...He gave a harsh laugh. “Apparently, it is difficult for you to understand, but I don’t want, nor do I need, your help. You are my wife, by God, not one of my men. I warned you not to interfere. I told you to never- under any circumstances- come to the broch again. Your ‘help’ has put my clan, the men I’ve been training, and me in grave danger... you have no idea what you've done." -Tor

Lily of the Springs by Carole Bellacera


The hardest reviews to write are for the books that hit me the deepest, the ones I love the most. Let me tell you, this review took me weeks to write! I couldn't get my thoughts together on it or decide which part to review. This definitely was the hardest review to wrote to date. So here goes....

"I knew my marriage was in trouble the night my husband brought home a streetwalker to teach me how to satisfy him."

Once I read that line, I was hooked. Just by that one line, I knew I was going to be on a rough and stormy ride of emotions that would pull me in opposite directions the entire time. And I was right. Those words hit me with such force I swear I could hear and feel what the heroine felt.

It also happens to be the first line in the book.

Lily of the Springs isn't my typical read. I usually read heavy romance books. Occasionally I'll branch out to other genres, but any book I read must keep me enthralled in order for me to keep reading it...making me forget all those steamy love scenes I so very much look forward to. And this book did. I could not put it down! I loved every minute of it and if I could give this book more than 5 stars I would. This is one of those books that captured my heart and will never let go...and I don't want it to. I simply loved it and didn't want it to end. Just thinking about this book brings a bittersweet smile to my face.

Carole Bellacera takes the reader back in time as the story takes place over the course of three decades- the 1940's, 1950's and 1960's. The story starts off in Kentucky and travels through the mid-west as the story unfolds. The story follows Lily as she searches for independence and love- not only from her husband but from herself as well. All the while Carole does an excellent job of describing the settings as the story develops. She pulls the reader back in time. I felt as if I lived through that time period. While there were a few words that I had never heard before, I found her overall choice of words to be right on point.

Lily falls in love with her high school sweetheart and plans to get married. The young couple was very much in love. They agreed to give themselves to each other until one night Lily’s boyfriend didn't want to wait anymore. So he sought out someone else, devastating Lily. After finding out what happened, a heartbroken Lily turned to a childhood friend. It's been years since she's spoken with him…after all, she was not allowed to speak with him. He's the one friend from long ago who she connected with during her childhood years in Kentucky, Jake.

Jake is the stereotypical white trash boy of the town. The kind of bad boy you want your daughter to stay away from. He comes from a bitter family. He's learned from watching the actions of his abusive father. He does what he wants when he wants. It's his way or the highway. When he sees Lily walking down the street, he wants her. Which isn't a problem for him since Lily goes willingly and openly into his arms. One night of passion turns into a secret romantic relationship that grows hot and sexy, until shocking news sets their fate in motion…news that Lily thought Jake would be happy with but clearly wasn't.

What Jake attempted nearly gave me a panic attack. I really believed Jake would have been happy with the news, but he wasn't. In a way I was glad he didn't accept the news with happiness. It would have been too easy....

"You made your bed, now you have to sleep in it," is what Lily's mother told her. And she does, trying to make the best of her marriage to an alcoholic and abusive husband. Jake was abusive on all levels- physically, emotionally and verbally, and Lily took it all. Yet she forgave him many times for his actions. Lily loved Jake and did whatever he needed, being a dutiful wife for many long years. I truly believe Jake loved Lily at times. I think you would too if you read it even though he was abusive. I know it doesn't make sense but you have to read it to understand.

Unfortunately, Lily doesn't get much in return in the form of a loving and caring husband. Instead of flowers and chocolates, she gets fists flying into her head and verbal degradations spewing from Jake's lips. He oftentimes would embarrass her, sometimes in situations with other women who he obviously lusted for. It's not what she thought her marriage would be. She often wondered what marriage would have been like if she married her high school sweetheart instead....

Even though there were years of deceit and abuse, there were good times too for Jake and Lily. I found myself rooting for Jake plenty of times, thinking he'd really changed. There were times when Jake would really impress me. But the straw that broke the camel’s back was a long time coming. Lily finally snapped. She lasted way longer than I would have, but it was different during those times so I understood why she did. I was in a state of shock when I found out what Jake did. I mean...I expected some form of it but I didn't want to accept it. Carole Bellacera kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time so when I found out what Jake did, I was like, oh hell no!

This review could go on and on but I'm going to stop now. There is so much that happens that I don't want to give it away. There were so many turn of events in this book...never a dull moment....I can assure you that!

I feel like this book is somewhat personal to the's just a feeling I have. I could be wrong but I don't think I am. Every once in a while I'll read a book where I get this feeling, like it's reaching out to me, letting me know these are real words form a real person. A fictional story yet underneath the lining is the true life of a real person. I strongly believe there is truth in this story somewhere for the author.

This story does have a happily ever after, in case you're wondering. Yes romantically....and in other ways too. Lily was pushed down so many times but she never gave up. She was fighter, a soldier. She did what she had to do and in the end it paid off for her. Its funny how things come full circle... you get what you deserve in the end. I have always believed in karma and this novel just goes to show that it.

Lily of the Springs is the kind of book I love the most. The one I look for and have the hardest time finding. The kind that really get down in the bones, take root and never let go.

Every once in a while, a song will play that makes me think of a book. This time it was Carrie Underwood's, So Small. I have played that song so many times since reading this book. Perfect.

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Author Spotlight: Gabriella Hewitt


Author Spotlight is the author's time to shine. Whether it's about their current book, upcoming book release or a fun post, check in to hear the latest news straight from the author.

Hello my sweets! Today I have a post from author Gabriella Hewitt about her newest book release...which sounds awesome by the way! Go and check it out!

SHADOW VISIONS (c) 2012 Samhain Publishing

Manuel has been tracking down a demon bent on sacrificing women with hummingbird tattoos. He is in danger of losing his humanity to his eagle spirit until he comes across Ixa Reyes, a beautiful San Diego Detective working on the same case, who also bears the mark of Huitzilopochtli. She is his salvation and redemption from a past filled with failure. Only she wants nothing to do with him or her heritage.

When a demon kidnaps her grandfather, the wind god, they must work together to save him and all mankind. He has twenty-four hours to help her control her elemental power over wind, that is if he can control his own desires to claim her body and soul. Because if he should fail, then the god of war will bring in a new era filled with blood and destruction.

When the last Shadow Warrior falls, so will humanity.

About the author:

Gabriella Hewitt is the pen name of creative writing talents Sasha Tomaszycki and Patrizia M.J. Hayashi. Together they weave tales of romantic suspense and dangerously sensual paranormals. Check out the website to find out about upcoming releases and events on her blog.


“Don’t come any closer or I’ll shoot.” Her gun shook in her hands as if she were a damn rookie. She fought to control her emotions but they swirled inside her. If she didn’t pull it together another tornado would manifest, and that frightened her more than the half-naked man with the eagle eyes in front of her.

“Not another step,” she ordered, but he continued to stalk towards her.

She held her stance. Her finger trembled on the trigger.

He reached her. His chest pressed to the muzzle. He easily towered over her. She stared up into his golden eyes. No fear. Instead, she read another emotion in his eyes.


She should have felt threatened, and she did, but not because she believed he meant to hurt her—it was much more fundamental than that. Her whole body seemed to come alive in his presence. Her breath shortened and she felt a flush stealing up underneath her tanned cheeks. She lowered her gaze and let her weapon fall to her side. Keeping her fingers tightly wrapped around the grip reminded her to remain grounded. Her reaction to him was so totally unlike her.

Up close, she found herself staring at a broad chest covered with a mantle of feathers. The man was made of solid muscle. Without volition, her gaze traveled upward, noting the powerful shoulders, the hard jaw, the firm lips and the stern expression he wore.

“You’re very brave, but your gun won’t help you against the tzitzimime.”

Ixa swallowed, searching for her voice. “Who are you? What are you?”

His hand came up. Gently, he traced the image of the hummingbird tattooed on her right bicep. Her muscle quivered under his touch. “Just as I thought. You bear the mark,” he murmured.

In the distance she heard the confused shouts of her fellow officers. “They’ll be here soon.” They would have heard the shots. They’d be searching for her.

“I distorted the sound so they check in a different area. They will not be upon us yet.”

“You can do that?” It didn’t seem possible, except she didn’t have an explanation for anything that had happened. Her brain seemed to be functioning in first gear, unable to catch up to anything that required substantial thought.

“I can do many things, you will find.”

He cupped her chin and tilted her head. His golden eyes came closer until his head blotted out the sky and everything around her. Helpless, she waited for his lips to touch hers.

His lips brushed hers, once, twice. She let out a sigh. He pressed down a third time and she leaned into him, but before she could deepen the kiss, he released her and stepped back.

Her entire body zinged with energy. She stared up at him, bemused.

He chuckled, which snapped her out of her daze. Had she lost her mind?

“Don’t ever do that again.”

He smiled, an incredibly sexy smile that made her nerve endings sing with need. Before she could lash out at him again, he raised his arms up. A breeze passed around them, ruffling the feathers adorning his chest. His image wavered and bent. She heard bones cracking, reshaping. Wave after wave of feathers burst forth in a soft, rippled covering. Where a warrior once stood, now a large eagle spread its wings and gave a loud cry. The eagle flapped its wings and took to the skies.

Ixa gasped. The gods will find a way to convince you. Her abuelo’s words echoed in her mind.

This Author Spotlight was brought to you by:

Monday, May 28, 2012

Power Play by Chellsie B. Dancer

Sergio Davis is working on landing an important account that will be the ticket to making partner by the time he’s thirty, and on his way into his office, he meets a beautiful woman.  Liz is an heiress who is successful in business, but not so much in relationships.  She seeks a man that wants her for herself and not her money.  She meets a sexy artistic man who takes control – something she’s wholly unfamiliar with giving up – and brings out her submissive side.  Liz seduces and teases him, spending nights paying the delicious price at his mercy.  They each make their power plays, but who will end up getting their way?

Power Play is an enjoyable sexy read with just a taste of bondage fun that leaves you wanting more of Sergio’s and Liz’s story.

I enjoyed this book.  The chemistry between the characters is good, and I love the way they tease each other.  The sex scenes were hot and their buildup was wickedly playful.  I loved how the sex scenes included a little light bondage, but in such a way as to ease the reader into it because it was so new and unusual even to the characters.  I also liked how every move they made with each other was a power play, pushing the other to see how far they could go.  Being that they were both in the corporate world, the term was very ambiguous and applied to both the boardroom and the bedroom.

While normally I would say it all happened a little fast with the emotional ties etc. I will attribute the speed to the immediate chemistry that develops right from the start.  Other than that my only complaint is how much Sergio overreacts to something that Liz says and does.  While I am totally on his side in the matter, I really just didn’t imagine him behaving the way he did in the aftermath.  I digress, I still got my happy ending and enjoyed the journey, which is the important part.

Oh and did I mention I now have a new appreciation for neck ties? *wink*

Rent-A-Groom by Jennifer Blake

I love Jennifer Blake stories. She was one of the first romance authors I read. Her stories always have a Happily Ever After and this one is no exception. I enjoyed this story and fell in love with the characters in it. Ms. Blake does an outstanding job of developing characters in such a short time, which is particularly difficult in a novella.

If I liked the story so much, then why only three stars? First, even though I love Jennifer Blake stories, I do like a bit more tension or anguish in my love stories. Second, I’m used to her stories being historical and this one is a modern day romance. That’s a hard transition for me to make with her.

It’s a good story and I recommend it to anyone who likes a good romance with a Happily Ever After!

Sunday, May 27, 2012

Sweet Sexy Scorching Summer Giveaway Hop!

Sweet Sexy Scorching Summer Giveaway Hop!
My Secret Romance (Taryn), The Smutty Kitty (Kitty Kelly) and Day Dreaming (Dawn) have joined together to create a blog hop to promote erotic books.

There has been a lot of hype in the media lately regarding "mommy porn" books and the use of ereaders to hid what we're reading. The media portrays it as "offensive and abusive" to woman.  While we love our ereaders something fierce, it doesn't mean we're ashamed to be reading our smutty books. In fact, we love erotic books and want to share it! 

Here are the details:

This blog hop will be similar to the game 'name that tune' only readers will be guessing an authors character. Each blogger will have a post dedicated to the author of the day, but only one blogger will have the 'Who am I' post. The rest of the blogs will have character hints, possible reviews, lines/quotes, blurbs or excerpts from books. Only twelve blogs will be participating. At the end of each day, there will be one winner chosen, making it five winners a week and then one grand prize winner at the end.

Please email us at if you have any questions.

Friday, May 25, 2012

Her Forbidden Hero by Laura Kaye

To sum it up: She's always been off-limits...

Former Army Special Forces Sgt. Marco Vieri has never thought of Alyssa Scott as more than his best friend's little sister, but her return home changes that... and challenges him to keep his war-borne demons at bay. Marco's not the same person he was back when he protected Alyssa from her abusive father, and he's not about to let her see the mess he's become.

...but now she's all grown up.

When Alyssa takes a job at the bar where Marco works, her carefree smiles wreak havoc on his resolve to bury his feelings. How can he protect her when he can't stop thinking about her in his bed? But Alyssa's not looking for protection—not anymore. Now that she's back in his life, she’s determined to heal her forbidden hero, one touch at a time...



This book was EVERYTHING I look for in a romance novel.

-Sweet and innocent heroine? Check.

-Totally drool-worthy and brooding/tortured/protective hero? Check.

-A hero who tries to keep himself at an emotional distance from the heroine? Triple Check.

-A hero with jerk tendencies? God yes… check.

...and did I mention the heroine’s name is the same as mine? *SQUEEEEE*

Like I said... perfect book.

Marco, Marco, Marco... *sigh* ...Man, I loved him. He definitely tried to keep his distance from Alyssa, because there was no way he was opening up his heart to anyone. He had been through too much in the Army- he still suffered through nightmares, and he had a few scars on the inside and out, that left him feeling like less of a man. Oh, and in Marco’s world, Alyssa might as well have been wearing a big neon sign that says: “Best friend’s little sister.” That was definitely reason enough alone, for Marco to stay away.

Alyssa on the other hand, has always been in love with Marco. He was always there for her during the good times and bad- always being that one person she could count on; the one she's always wanted to spend the rest of her life with. Her faithful heart never once gave up on wanting to be even closer to him- always knowing that he's still the same Marco that she's always known. Alyssa is definitely a favorite heroine of mine- she's kind, sweet, and her love for Marco knows no bounds.

I won’t go into too much detail with this novel, because I don’t want to give much away- but what I can say, is that Laura Kaye did a fantastic job with this one! It was the first time I’ve read her work, and it definitely won’t be my last. This is one book that’s packed with a lot of story, depth, and emotion. The only thing I can say that this story was lacking was length- but that isn’t saying much, since I would have never wanted the story to end! Lauren Kaye definitely delivered in this book- need I say more? :)

The Fireman Who Loved Me by Jennifer Bernard

Melissa McGuire is a news producer who is tricked by her well meaning, but bossy grandmother to attend a bachelor auction that benefits the Widows and Orphans charity for firemen and policemen.  Her grandmother secretly bids on and wins her choice for Melissa.  Melissa is horrified that her “Grans” bid on a young fireman. She rushes from the room and plows right into Harry Brody, who is the Fire Captain of the San Gabriel fire department. She automatically assumes he is one of the bachelors up for bid on and begins to insult him for him doing something embarrassing in the name of a charity.

Everyone believes that Nelly, Melissa’s grandmother, bid on Bachelor number 5 for herself. Ryan, aka Bachelor number 5, is getting ruthlessly teased and harassed by his fellow firemen and begs the Captain to take his place. Instead of breaking an old lady’s heart he agrees to go one a date with Nelly.  Nelly, who has her own agenda, fakes being sick so Melissa must stand in her place.

Brody and Melissa are two opposites and in their minds not right for each other. Especially after getting into a fight and being asked to leave from part of their date, but one hot and heavy kiss against her front door and they can’t deny the sparks that fly sexually between the two. 

Brody has a love/hate relationship when it comes to newscasters. He feels that they take advantage of people at some of their lowest moments. Now, add into the mix a firehouse of hot firemen, a high maintenance diva news anchor who makes Melissa’s life a living hell, her father who is a recovering alcoholic, a little boy asking for help and two exes who should never have reentered the picture and you have a story that can kinda go either way.

I picked this book up because I saw the cover and said ooohhh hot firemen! This story definitely has potential.  I started reading and at first I just couldn’t get hooked. I loved the idea of a bachelor auction, especially for charity. I told myself I was going to finish this book because I hate not finishing a book or giving it a chance to hook me in....and I am so glad I continued.

Jennifer Bernand goes into great detail of how hot and available the firemen where of this one particular station, but she also made sure to acknowledge how firemen are true heroes, not just hot guys in a uniform. You get to know a little about some of the firemen and want to find out more.  I began to form a love/hate relationship with Ella, the diva news anchor that Melissa is a producer for.  While I could have maybe done without so much Ella and her crap that she pulled I do realize that in the end it all works out and makes people see what is truly important.  I also cried when Rodrigo turned up at Brody’s door.

I will admit maybe I like this books so much because my grandfather was a fireman and even though he retired before I was born he still had his turn out gear at home. I just remember thinking that it was so cool that he was a fireman.  This book turned out to be a pleasant surprise and I am looking forward to reading the next book which comes out soon.  I love finding new authors to read and Jennifer Bernard, in my opinion is one worth trying.

Thursday, May 24, 2012

Navarro's Promise by Lora Leigh

Navarro's Promise is the 24th book in the Breed Series

I am a big fan of the Breed series. I've liked almost all of the books in this series and that goes for this one as well. I don't remember ever meeting our hero, Navarro, in the past books or Mica, our heroine, Cassie's best friend. It has been a while since I've read these books but I just couldn't remember either of those characters.

I don't think the storyline has changed much; someone out to kill a Breed or a Breed's mate. Clearly it seems to work with this series seeing as it's so popular. But doesn't anyone think it's a little strange how all the Breeds live under one roof? I mean, one bomb and they're all gone.

I have to say that I LOVED Mica's personality and how she didn't put up with the mating heat. She has been in love with Navarro since she was sixteen. They both felt a connection back then but stayed away from each other to avoid becoming mates. Navarro's reasons for staying away were understandable- Mica was too young. He wanted her to explore and enjoy her life before she became a mate.

Navarro has recessed genes and was devoid of any feelings, as that is how he was created making it hard for a mating hormones to fully develop as well. Mica had learned to cover her emotions since she lived with the Breeds and they were able to sense what she was feeling. With the combination of both of those traits, the mating was different in this book then the others.

Navarro was able to block the mating heat while Mica was in full heat. In the past books, the heroines have all given in to the mating heat as soon as it strikes. I would have liked to see them fight the urges off just a bit like Mica did in this book. I think it brings more heat and tension to the story and not just sex. The chemistry starts to grow between the characters and that's when the connection starts to appear. Mica did not want to gravel at Navarro's feet for his touch so she fought the mating heat. I don't blame her one bit either. Who wants to beg for their lover to touch them? Not me. Little did she know he wasn't fighting not to be with her, he just didn't have the emotions she did to show it. The romance scenes were smoking hot! But they always are when it's a Lora Leigh book. In this book, I felt like her scenes lasted a little longer than usual, maybe repeating what she said but wording it differently.

When it comes to the Breed books, everyone wants to know about Cassie. We were not given any clue as to who her mate is and I don't think we will know for a long time. Most people suspect it is Dog....

The big problem I had with this book? The missing pages. There is a whole scene or two missing from the book at the end. I was at a part where Mica was pressed against a wall by Navarro, grinding against her, kissing her, to Mica and Navarro wrapped in sheets in a bed with Bradenmore standing before them trying to kill Mica and Navarro. It was clearly a romance scene that is missing but how they got to the bed is a mystery. I did hear that the author put up the scene on her website so I will have to cheat it out. But that is a huge editing mistake that should have never happened. I am horrible when it comes to grammar and punctuation, I'm the first to admit it. I make errors all the time. I can't believe how many darn errors are in this book! Did her editor not read this book before publishing?

 I definitely liked this book despite that one problem and I look forward to the others.

ARC Review: The Booby Trap by Anne Browning Walker

Bambi is a PhD student working on her dissertation in women’s studies while she works at a bar called the Booby Trap. Trip is a wealthy business owner who makes an assumption about Bambi and decides to use her to get back at his dad and lack of control over his life. Then things backfire on him.

I found the Booby Trap to be a quick and easy read. I found the plot to be predictable as they put on a “for show” romance to appease his father and help out the family business. The interactions between Bambi and Trip were predictable and seem to follow the same pattern as other stories with this same premise.

Even though I found the interactions and story predictable I enjoyed reading this story. Bambi and Trip are both loveable characters and I enjoyed watching them torment those around them. The chemistry between Bambi and Trip and the budding romance between them make this an enjoyable read.

I tend to enjoy stories with a bit of suspense or mystery involved in them. For those readers who enjoy a straight romance with a happily ever after, this is your story!

Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Joanne Kendrick Strange and Beautiful Blitz Book Tour

Tales From The CoffinEstella, Vampire Queen of the Rejected,

royally invites you to join herself and her zombie lover for a fix of dark erotic tales sure to tickle your fancy and give you the shivers. But mind your manners, because she bites.

Estella  is better known as the Vampire  Queen of the Rejected due to her major Haversham complex; dumped at the altar, she's Dracula's rejected bride. And boy does she harp on it--still wears her Victorian wedding dress, moth holes and all.
Lucy Rot  was a  sweet girl who had a rather bad experience with magic. Now she's a zombie and Estella's lover and lacky.
Together, they lure the unsuspecting into their dark basement for a fix of darkly erotic twisted tales...and dinner!

Think story within a story. Great expectations mashed with Tales from the Crypt and Red Shoe Diaries.

TALES FRO THE  COFFIN BOOK ONE,  STRANGE AND BEAUTIFUL, RELEASES 22nd MAY 2012 . Book two, All the Pretty Faces releases June/July 2012

 (c) JoAnne Kenrick, Decadent Publishing. All rights reserved.
“Fancy bursting into my boudoir and expecting me to entertain on demand. The cheek of it. You people have no manners.” Estella puffed her raspberry-red hair into something that resembled an up-do and readjusted her breasts, shovingher plump flesh back into her once-upon-a-time-white corset. “I know. The wordis out. I give great story. I do understand. You’re excited, who wouldn’t be? I amrather marvelous, if I do say so myself.“In my day, though, the men held doors open for ladies, and the ladies tiltedtheir necks to offer supper. Oh, no need to wrap that sweater farther up yourjugular, dear, I’ve already eaten, so I’m not hungry…at the moment.” Estellastretched her arms out, licked her canines, and hoisted her moth-hole-riddenskirt to expose her alabaster thighs decorated with stockings laddered at theknees and splattered with fresh blood. “I can’t vouch for Lucy, though. She’salways hungry, aren’t you my little Deady Bear.”


    Estella, Vampire Queen of the Rejected, is sick of men. Or so she would have you think. Ditched at the altar by Dracula himself, she'd rather spend her days with what she now believes to be the more faithful gender. Plagued by a Haversham complex, she gets her kicks by luring prey into her decrepit house with promises of erotic tales...but mind your manners, and fingers, because she bites.
 Lucy Rotterdayne—a zombie better known as Lucy Rot—is Estella's sometimes-faithful subject and lover. Although why she hangs around to be ridiculed and taunted by a bitter vampire, she has no idea. Perhaps the answer is rooted the story of how she was zombified by a doctor who is simply masterful with his hands?
WARNING.  For adult audiences only.


Get your kindle books signed by the author here:
eBook signings here!

Trailer Widget -- for trailer in full screen, hit the yellow movie box in the widget.

Also by JoAnne Kenrick

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Donna Grant Sooper Dooper Release Day Blog Hop!

From the acclaimed author of the Dark Sword novels comes a thrilling spin off series in which ancient magic in the modern world ignites a timeless passion…
Gwynn Austin has no idea why her father has disappeared on a mysterious trip to Scotland.  When she goes on a desperate mission to search for him she finds more than she bargains for in a ruggedly handsome, wickedly exciting Highlander who exudes danger and mystery. And when she discovers her own link to Scotland, she’ll have to trust her heart to help lead her….

Propelled through time by powerful Druid Magic, Logan Hamilton uses his immortality and powers of the god inside him to help prevent the awakening of an ancient evil in the modern world. He never expects to find help in the form of a beautiful, alluring, and all too tempting woman whose passion and strength matches his own. Together, Logan and Gywnn must fight for their love—before a demon from the past destroys them both… 

Which Warrior can alter reality?

He was captured by Isla when she was forced to serve Deirdre. He was raised in captivity before his god was released. There was something about his blood that could cure anything. Though most Warriors’ blood could heal other Warriors, his could heal anyone and anything.

Meet Author Donna Grant! 

Donna Grant is the bestselling, award winning author of more than twenty-five novels spanning multiple genres of romance.

She was born and raised in Texas but loves to travel. Her adventures have taken her throughout the United States as well as to Jamaica, Mexico, and Scotland. Growing up on the Texas/Louisiana border, Donna’s Cajun side of the family taught her the “spicy” side of life while her Texas roots gave her two-steppin’ and bareback riding.

Her childhood dream was to become a professional ballet dancer and study under the amazing Mikhail Baryshnikov. Though she never got to meet Baryshnikov, she did make it to New York City and performed in the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. Later, Donna’s love of the romance genre and the constant stories running through her head prompted her to sit down and write her first book. Once that book was completed, there was no turning back.

Donna sold her first book in November 2005 while displaced from Hurricane Rita, a storm that destroyed portions of the Texas Gulf Coast. Since then, Donna has sold novels and novellas to both electronic and print publishers. Her books include several complete series such as Druids Glen, The Shields, Royal Chronicles, Sisters of Magic, Dark Sword, Dark Warriors, and her new series, Dark Kings.

Despite the deadlines and her voracious reading, Donna still manages to keep up with her two young children, four cats, three fish, and one long haired Chihuahua. She’s blessed with a proud, supportive husband who loves to read and travel as much as she does.

The blackness, the unending void ate away at Logan as he was yanked out of the year 1603 and thrown forward in time.  He felt himself falling and desperately reached for something to hang onto
The wind rushed by him, hurting his ears with the high pitched sound and drowning out any noise.  The wind took his breath, making it difficult to breath.  He was tossed first one way, and then the other.  Determining which way was up was soon forgotten.

Where were the others?  Ramsey, Arran, and Camdyn?  The Druids had told him they didn’t know where any of them would end up.  All Logan could pray for as he felt the years and decades pass by was that he landed in the right time.

PhotobucketAround him, the inky darkness began to shimmer – the same shimmer that had appeared when the Druids cast the spell to send Logan and the others traveling through time.
Almost instantly, he was dumped out of the abyss onto his hands and knees into the midst of a vicious rainstorm.

Logan swallowed and gave himself a moment to let his head stop spinning.  He pushed his fingers into the wet ground and smiled when he felt the dirt between his hands.

He sat back on his heels and looked around.  It was day, but the storm had darkened the sky.  An urgent need pulled at him, called to him to return to Eigg, but he pushed it aside.  He had to find Ian.  That was his duty.

Logan wiped off his hands and took stock of his whereabouts on a hillside, the tall grass swaying with the howling wind.  But what grabbed his interest were the dots of light below him.

Logan blinked through the cold, torrential rain and climbed to his feet.  Those weren’t fires he saw flickering in the valley.  What they were, he didn’t know.  Yet.

He rose to his feet and ran a hand through his hair to get it out of his face.  It was time to discover just where the Druids had managed to toss him in the future.

On his way down to the valley, Logan crossed a road that had been covered with some hard, black substance with bright white lines painted on it.

He squatted down to touch the surface and felt the rumbling of the ground beneath his fingers.  Logan rose and stepped back as something large and loud came rolling down the lane.

As the object passed, Logan spotted a person inside who looked like they controlled the loud contraption.

More confused than ever, Logan walked over the road and down to the town.  He could hardly believe his eyes when he reached the village to find buildings lined down the street, one right next to the other.  They were all painted the same bright white with many more of those noisy contraptions lining the road as well as traveling down it.

Logan kept to the side of the road where he saw other people walking.  A few gave him odd glances but most paid him no heed.

He passed store after store, trying to learn the language written on the signs.  The fact that he had a primeval god inside him, a god so ancient his name had been forgotten, was the only way he was able to pick up this new language so quickly.

“You’re soaked through, lad,” said an elderly woman as she opened a door to a store Logan was walking past.

He gave a slight nod and felt the knot in his belly loosen as he heard her brogue.  He was still in Scotland.  Now, to determine when he was.

“Ah, not much of a talker,” she said and laughed.
Logan smiled.  “What year is it?”

She blinked and cocked her gray head at him.  “You’ve quite the brogue, lad.  It’s been many a years since I’ve heard one so thick.”  She smiled, a far away look stealing across her face.

Logan took a step toward her.  “The year, lady?”

“Oh.” She chuckled and patted her chest.  “Forgive me.  It’s 2012.  What an odd question.”

“I’ve been living by myself…away from everyone.”

“And everything,” she said as she eyed his kilt.

Logan looked around him and shrugged.  “What village am I in?”

This time the old woman frowned as she watched him.  “Salen, not far from the Isle of Skye.”

He knew the village, but the last time he had seen it, there had barely been anything there.  It had grown tremendously since then.

What else had changed in the four centuries since he had left his friends behind at MacLeod Castle?
“I thank you,” he said to the woman and walked on before she could ask more questions.

Logan looked at the town of Salen with new eyes.  If this almost nonexistent village could grow so much in just a few centuries, what had become of Edinburgh or Glasgow?  And did he even want to know?

He paused as a young woman ran in front of him to one of the contraptions sitting on the side of the road.  She jerked at the handle as she held a bag over her head in an effort to keep from getting wet.  It wasn’t working.

“Rory!  You wanker!  Unlock the bloody door so I can get in the car!” she yelled over her shoulder.
Logan turned his head to see a thin man come out of the shop, walk around the…car, insert something small into the door, and open it.

The woman yanked on her door again then banged on the window above it.  “Rory.  Unlock the bloody door now!”

After another moment, Rory leaned over the door and pulled on something.  A moment later, the woman got in.  She was still yelling as the car rolled away.   

So, the contraptions were called cars, and apparently people rode them much as Logan rode horses.  He sighed and continued forward.  It wasn’t just the landscape that had changed.  The people had changed as well.

No lady Logan had known would ever have spoken as the woman with Rory had.  Not even whores spoke so crudely.

Logan heard footsteps coming fast behind him.  His muscles seized and fangs filled his mouth.  Logan spun around, claws lengthening as he readied himself to behead whoever thought to attack him.

He pulled his hand back, stopping himself just in time as two young lads who ran past him, laughing and soaking wet.  Logan stepped into the doorway of an unused building and took a deep breath.
Was he so used to fighting that he would attack anyone?  Even children?  He shook his head and struggled to tamp down the god inside him.

Athleus.  He was the god of betrayal inside Logan, an ancient god who wanted nothing but death and destruction.  It had taken decades for Logan to gain control over his god. 

But sometimes, that control slipped.

Logan carried enough burdens.  He didn’t need to add the death of two young lads to the weight. 
Once his fangs and claws had retreated, and Logan was sure his skin wasn’t the silver of his god, he stepped out of the shadows and lengthened his stride as he exited the town. The urge to return to Eigg was sharp and true in his chest.

If anyone found out that he had a monster inside him, that he could release the god and become a beast, Logan was sure they’d kill him.

But he didn’t just have a god inside him.  He was able to use Athleus’ power, a power able to control water.  And Logan was going to the Isle of Eigg, an isle surrounded by water.

He wasn’t sure when he had made that decision, only that he had.  Logan couldn’t hold back the desperate need to return there as soon as possible.

The last time he had been to Eigg, which to him was just a matter of hours – not centuries – earlier, he had been looking for an artifact hidden there by the Druids.

Not only had he not found the artifact, but his friend and fellow Warrior, Duncan, had been killed by Deirdre.  Deirdre was a drough, a Druid who had given herself to evil and black magic.  She was on a mission to take over the world, and as great as her magic was, Logan feared she might just win.

It had been Deirdre who had unleashed the gods inside the Warriors.  And it would be Warriors who would help end Deirdre once and for all.

But first, Logan had to find Ian, Duncan’s twin.

He couldn’t imagine what Ian was going through.  Ian and Duncan, as twins, had shared a god, and with Duncan’s death, the full power and rage of their god would overtake Ian.  If he couldn’t control his god, his god would control him and he would be ripe for Deirdre to claim.  Which is just what she had wanted when she killed Duncan.

Logan had no idea where Ian had gone, but he knew Deirdre.  She had leaped forward in time to 2012 in order to thwart him and the others in their mission to find the artifacts before she did.

He frowned.  Or had she?

If Deirdre could travel through time whenever she wanted, why hadn’t she done so before now?  She could have changed the outcome to anything that hadn’t gone her way, including gaining the artifacts before the MacLeods.   
If Deirdre hadn’t traveled through time on her own, that meant someone had to have helped her.
But who?  And, more importantly, why?

Logan wasn’t sure he’d have those answers anytime soon.  Regardless, in order to defeat Deirdre, the Warriors would still need the artifacts.  The one he had been sent to get was on Eigg.

He paused and looked around him.  None of the other three Warriors who had volunteered to look for Ian had landed with Logan.  He wasn’t even sure if they had been taken as he had.

Yet, he knew the Druids at MacLeod Castle.  Each one was powerful in her own right, and together, they wielded magic and quite literally took his breath away.

He had no doubt they had succeeded in tossing the others forward in time along with him.  He had no means of communicating with anyone, nor could he take the chance of traveling to MacLeod Castle yet.  He had to find Ian before Deirdre did.

If she didna have him already.

You can find Donna here-



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...